Welcome to Honormehaganga's blog

Kenya Election: Uhuru Kenyatta wins controversial Kenya presidential election

President Uhuru Kenyatta has been declared winner of the fresh presidential election held on Thursday,October 30.

Uhuru was announced president-elect after garnering more than 7.4 million votes while NASA’s Raila Odinga came second with 73,228 votes – Raila had however withdrawn from the race but his name was in the ballot after he failed to sign form 24A

Other candidates in the race included Ekuru Aukot, Japheth Kaluyu, Cyrus Jirongo, Abdouba Dida, Michael Wainaina, and Joe Nyaga. President Uhuru Kenyatta has been declared winner in the divisive fresh presidential election after garnering 7,483, 895 votes.

According to reports gathered, Uhuru was announced president-elect by IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati at a packed Bomas of Kenya, the National tallying centre on Monday, October 30. The winner was declared without results from four NASA counties where violence prevented the commission from conducting the poll.

NASA leader Raila Odinga who was however not participating in the race after withdrawing and calling for a boycott of the exercise had 73,228 votes.

Other presidential candidates included Ekuru Aukot,Japheth Kaluyu, Cyrus Jirongo, Abdouba Dida, Michael Wainaina and Joe Nyaga. Immediately Uhuru was announced, the venue erupted in cheers as Jubilee supporters including politicians cheered.

Similar celebrations also took place in Jubilee strongholds of Mt Kenya and Rift Valley among others. Uhuru’s win in the repeat poll did not come as a surprise as he had opened an early lead garnering more than 7 million votes 24 hours after polling had closed.

The election held on Thursday, October 26 after the Supreme Court annulled the August 8 presidential vote on Friday, September 1 after Raila filed a petition in the court. But Raila demanded that changes must be done at the IEBC including firing several top officials whom he claimed bungled the August exercise before he could participate in the fresh election.

He gave 12 irreducible minimums which he said must be fulfilled by the commission but the electoral body failed to meet all of them leading to the NASA leader writing a withdrawal letter.

But IEBC said it would still go ahead and print his name in the ballot as he had declined to sign the requisite form 24A.

Raila also called for demonstrations against IEBC which led to several deaths and injuries on his supporters. He also declared the election would not take place at all making it hard for IEBC to hold the poll in 25 constituencies in four NASA counties of Kisumu, Migori, Homabay and Siaya. Voter turnout was at 38.4% according to IEBC figures.

 402 total views,  1 views today

honormeh Aganga

Add comment

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

WhatsApp chat